Making your way in chicago

I’m sure if I told you this yet but I came from a poor family. Not dirt floors wood burning stove West

Virginia shoeless but poor nevertheless. I went to Catholic school but momma must

have gotten some kind of discount for being poor Christians or something because I can tell any journey

I made back in the day started with my family and I getting on a bus or “L” and by an early age I knew

the transit system like the back of my hand not only to get my younger brother and myself but to go to

places I deemed fun. Unfortunately when you use these forms of transportation you are at the whim of

the individuals who are moving you along the sitting and a captured audience for any asshole who

wishes to have fun with you. If a bus driver wanted to grab something to eat at his favorite restaurant

was on this particular route you’re just going to have wait for the driver to put in an order and get their

food. I can think of several occasions of this happening. On my way home from ST. Malachi on the

Western ave bus a crazy bum got on. I call him crazy because he was talking incoherently and he pissed

his pants while seated on the bus so crazy old fuck is an apt term. He did this in one of the front seats so

the bus driver noticed this and proceeded to curse him out for pissing on her bus in that seat. So as a

courtesy he wipe the seat of piss with one strong swipe of his hand. The lady sitting directly across from

him seemed a little upset by that. The two times my mother had her purse snatched was while she was

waiting on a bus or getting on a bus. The kid of took her purse while she was waiting on the bus actually

had a conversation with her and as she got on the bus he grabbed it from her and run. Another time she

was with a “friend” (That is code for black women which means “I am fucking this guy right now until he

gets serious or something else better comes along”) with some other useless bastard ran off with her

purse. The funny part of this story is that the purse got no money. From time immemorial my mother

has keep her money in her left tit. If you take her purse the only parting gifts you will receive is lip stick,

gum, some coins and pictures of her boys. Queer shit always seem to happen on the bus or train I was

on. My mother was taking little brother and myself to a movie when cops jumped on a bus with their

guns pointed at some older Mexican guy inside and outside the bus. I never found out what he did but it

must have been something big time to endanger a bus full innocent passengers then again they were

only mostly blacks and a few brown people. There have been times were I have actually been ashamed to

be black on a bus. Snatching gold chains was an events I had seen my share of. As a person was getting

off a bus he would grab the chain of his victim. On this one occasion a Mexican woman was on the

Pulaski ave bus going southbound and the bus was letting off passengers at the stop to board the blue

line train when some big nigga grabbed her chain. Unfortunately, the gold didn’t come off very easily

and he had to yank it really hard again so it would come off. The sad part is other niggas on the bus

(mostly women) said “She should know better than to get on a bus with gold on her neck. she should

have tucked that shit in” and some just laughed at her.

Leave a Reply

